Early Bird vs Night Owl

Daily Prompt: 6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?

IMG_9881

I am decidedly not a morning person. The only times I can remember ever voluntarily getting up before 10 am were those giddy Christmas mornings of my youth. Back then, you didn’t have to worry about pesky things like budgets and impending lay-offs, and even if you had the slightest inkling that Santa wasn’t real, you knew enough to keep your mouth shut so that the tree was fully stocked.

Ah, yes, the good ol’ days. I had no problem with waking up at 5 or 6 am on those mornings. 

Now? I have my morning commute timed so that I can stay in bed until the last possible minute. Then it’s a mad dash to the shower, to put on some clothes, and to make my hair look presentable before rushing out the door. And it doesn’t matter how much sleep I get the night before, this habit is so deeply ingrained that I even act this way on 9 or 10 hrs of sleep.

It doesn’t make sense for my life, though. Finding that extra time in the morning to write would be a boon to my productivity. Also, I’d be able to take advantage of the famed morning golden hour for my photography. I’ve only been able to catch it on very rare occasions after great effort on my part.

I long to be one of those people that can get up early, fit in yoga, writing, and at least one cup of coffee before heading out. To that end, I’ve decided to take advantage of some tips and tricks from Leo Babauta over at Zen Habits. His main advice is to gradually ease yourself into this new habit by setting your alarm clock for 10 – 15 mins earlier for a few days at a time until you reach your desired start time. That seems doable. I plan to increment by 15 mins per week, so that by September, I should be waking up at 6 am each morning.

Or not.

Just typing that out seems insane to me, but I’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

