Confessions of a Delinquent Blogger

It’s graduation season and I’ve been binging on inspirational graduation speeches for the past couple of weeks. For some reason, I keep coming back to Neil Gaiman’s speech at the University of the Arts in 2012.

In the video, he talks about visualizing your goals as a mountain, and evaluating the things that you do on the basis of whether it takes you closer to or further away from that mountain. He also talks about the concept of working on your art (your passion) through all the ups and downs of your life. These are principles that I’m trying to institute in my life right now.

….

I started this blog last year with every intention of posting relevant up-to-date information about interesting topics on a bi-weekly basis. (And, yes, that exact phrase is scribbled in a notebook somewhere.)

Of course, things didn’t go precisely according to plan. Partially because I’m a huge procrastinator and partially because I’m a little bit of a perfectionist. Also, my starting goal was vague at best. What’s interesting? What’s relevant? Will anyone really care about anything that I have to say? Especially when there are probably thousands of people that could say it better with fewer question marks?

As a result, I’ve found myself haphazardly blogging when I get the urge to write something and daydreaming about being a superstar blogger the rest of the time.

So, in an effort to become a more confident and prolific blogger, I’ve signed up for WordPress’s Blogging 101 class. Annnd, I’m already a week behind. It’s been a really interesting class so far, though. I love browsing through other people’s blogs to see how they approach things. By the end of this 3 week course, I want to be in the habit of posting something at least two times a week and engaging more with the blogging community in general.

Going forward, my hope for this blog is for it became a hodgepodge of information about travel, art, science, photography and food. That’s a lot, I know, but I don’t want to make my focus too specific. I love learning new things and picking up new skills, and I love talking about them to anyone who will listen. (Psst…that means you! ;o) )

For the rest of this class, I’m working on letting go of my inner critic, posting more, and keeping my mountain in view.

One thought on “Confessions of a Delinquent Blogger

  1. I hope you do continue posting – your photos are magnificent in their detail and mood. (I’m procrastinating on listening to the full speech… but I will at some point since he is a favorite writer of mine.)

Leave a Reply

